Active Schools

Active Schools

Active Schools is sportscotland’s national initiative that aims to provide more and higher quality opportunities to take part in sport and physical activity before school, during lunchtime and after school, and to develop effective pathways between schools and sports clubs in the local community.

Delivered in Aberdeen by Sport Aberdeen’s Active Schools team, we work with all primary, secondary and ASN schools in the city to increase the number of children being active.

Active Schools Team

The team are responsible for creating opportunities and encouraging all children and young people to participate in physical activity and sport.

Each of our Active Schools Coordinators work for a number of associated schools groups (ASG);  made up of one of the secondary schools in the city along with their associated cluster of primary schools.

Associated School Groups
Additional Support Needs (ASN)
  • Orchard Brae School

Grant Wilson – Active Schools Operations Manager
075959 23936
GrWilson@sportaberdeen.co.uk
@ActiveSchoolsASN


  • Orchard Brae School

Scott Mitchell – Assistant
SMitchell@sportaberdeen.co.uk


  • Mile End ASN Wing

Sarah Fraser – Lead Coordinator
07825 227941
safraser@sportaberdeen.co.uk


  • Bucksburn Academy ASN Wing

Victor Omondi – Coordinator
07825228158
vomondi@sportaberdeen.co.uk

  • Aberdeen School for Deaf

Evelyn Mair – Coordinator
07825 228140
EMair@sportaberdeen.co.uk

Aberdeen Grammar (ASG)
  • Aberdeen Grammar School
  • Ashley Road Primary School
  • Gilcomstoun Primary School
  • Mile End Primary School
  • Mile End ASN Wing
  • Skene Square Primary School
  • St Joseph’s Primary School

Sarah Fraser – Lead Coordinator
07825 227941
safraser@sportaberdeen.co.uk
@activeschoolsaberdeengrammar

Bridge of Don (ASG)
  • Bridge of Don Academy
  • Scotstown Primary School
  • Braehead Primary School

 

Kim McRobbie – Lead Coordinator
07825 228173
KiMcrobbie@sportaberdeen.co.uk
@activeschoolsbridgeofdon

Bucksburn (ASG)
  • Bucksburn Academy
  • Bucksburn Academy ASN Wing
  • Brimmond Primary School
  • Kingswells Primary School
  • Stoneywood Primary School

Victor Omondi – Coordinator
07825228158
vomondi@sportaberdeen.co.uk
@ActiveSchoolsBucksburn

Cults (ASG)
  • Cults Academy
  • Cults Primary School
  • Culter Primary School
  • Milltimber Primary School

John Dixon – Coordinator
07825 227981 or 01224 507687
JoDixon@sportaberdeen.co.uk
@ActiveSchoolsCults

Dyce (ASG)
  • Dyce Academy
  • Dyce School

Victor Omondi – Coordinator
07825228158
vomondi@sportaberdeen.co.uk
@ActiveSchoolsDyce

Harlaw (ASG)
  • Harlaw Academy
  • Broomhill Primary School
  • Ferryhill Primary School
  • Kaimhill Primary School
  • Hanover Street Primary School

Joanna Bell – Lead Coordinator
07825 227822
Jbell@sportaberdeen.co.uk
@activeschoolsharlaw

Hazlehead (ASG)
  • Hazlehead Academy
  • Airyhall Primary School
  • Fernielea Primary School
  • Hazlehead Primary School
  • Kingsford Primary School

Wendy Carrick – Coordinator
07825 228117
WCarrick@sportaberdeen.co.uk
@HazleheadActiveSchools

Lochside (ASG)
  • Lochside Academy
  • Abbotswell Primary School
  • Charleston Primary School
  • Kirkhill Primary School
  • Loirston Primary School
  • Tullos Primary School
  • Walker Road Primary School

 

Aimee Beattie – Coordinator

07825 754634
ABeattie@sportaberdeen.co.uk
@activeschoolslochside

Brodie Atkinson -Assistant for Loirston School
@activeschoolslochside

Northfield (ASG)
  • Northfield Academy
  • Bramble Brae Primary School
  • Heathryburn Primary School
  • Holy Family RC Primary School
  • Murifield Primary School
  • Quarryhill Primary School
  • Manor Park Primary School
  • Westpark Primary School

Stacey Stuart – Coordinator
07825 288129
stastuart@sportaberdeen.co.uk
@activeschoolsnorthfield


  • Northfield Academy

Eilidh Stewart – Assistant for Northfield Academy
estewart@sportaberdeen.co.uk

  • Northfield ASG Transition

Michael Devine – Project Activator
07825 859069
smdevine@sportaberdeen.co.uk

Oldmachar (ASG)
  • Oldmachar Academy
  • Danestone Primary School
  • Forehill Primary School
  • Glashieburn Primary School
  • Greenbrae Primary School
  • Middleton Park Primary School

Ciara Reidy – Coordinator
07825 228177
CReidy@sportaberdeen.co.uk
@activeschoolsoldmachar

St Machar (ASG)
  • St Machar Academy
  • Cornhill Primary School
  • Kittybrewster Primary School
  • Riverbank Primary School
  • Seaton Primary School
  • St Peter’s Primary School
  • Sunnybank Primary School
  • Woodside Primary School
  • Aberdeen School for Deaf

 

Evelyn Mair – Coordinator
07825 228140
EMair@sportaberdeen.co.uk
@ActiveSchoolsStMachar

Ross Sangster – Assistant for St Machar Academy
@ActiveSchoolsStMachar

Virtual School (ASG)

SPACE Programme

Kim McRobbie – Lead Coordinator
07825 228173
KiMcrobbie@sportaberdeen.co.uk

 

Olivia Burridge – Project Activator
OBurridge@sportaberdeen.co.uk

 

Katrina Carr – Project Activator
KCarr@sportaberdeen.co.uk

Priority Families (Unit)

Jack Rattray – Project Activator
jrattray@sportaberdeen.co.uk

Dance Aberdeen

 

Katie Kerr – Pathways Coordinator
07415072801
KKerr@sportaberdeen.co.uk

Who we work with:

View More