General News:

Aberdeen’s Sports Awards 2017 sees biggest celebration to date


Zoey Clark, Eddie McKenna and Janice Moir were among a host of talented and dedicated finalists who took the top spots at Aberdeen’s Sports Awards 2017, which took place last week (Thursday 26th October).

Zoey Clark triumphed in a double win, taking home both adult and student Sports Achiever of the Year, while Eddie McKenna scooped Coach of the Year and Janice Moir was the deserving winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award on the night.

The ceremony, now in its 24th year was hosted by the Active Aberdeen Partnership at the AECC, recognising the wealth of sporting achievements and contributions made by local athletes, volunteers and clubs in encouraging individuals to be active in Aberdeen.

The Scottish themed celebration welcomed hundreds of guests who paid tribute to the winners and finalists at the largest awards ceremony to date.

Neil Fachie MBE, who was appointed as Aberdeen’ Sports Awards first ambassador this year, was joined by Hannah and Patrick Miley as key speakers throughout the glittering awards ceremony, with anecdotal accounts and inspirational insights.

Tony Dawson, Active Aberdeen Partnership Chairman, said:

“On behalf of the Active Aberdeen Partnership, I would like to extend huge congratulations to all of the winners, finalists and the local community that continues to put Aberdeen on the sporting map.

“This year Aberdeen’s Sports Awards not only celebrated the silent cheerleaders of sport in the Granite City, but recognised Scotland as a Nation of sporting excellence.

“The evening brought together a host of the North-East’s finest, from individuals to clubs, schools and volunteers, all of whom contribute to the sporting community and continue to foster and inspire our city’s wealth of talent.

“This year we were honoured to appoint Neil Fachie MBE as Aberdeen’s Sports Awards first ambassador, paying homage to him as not only an accomplished athlete but celebrating him as a role model for future generations.

“As always, the night was a spectacular demonstration of what can be achieved within our city through the passion and dedication of those who are the driving force behind Aberdeen’s sporting community”.

Click here to see pictures from the night.

Sports Achiever of the Year – Adult

Zoey Clark

Sports Achiever of the Year – Junior

Tom Beeley

Sports Achiever of the Year – Student

Zoey Clark

Sports Achiever of the Year – Veteran

Fiona Davidson

Sports Achiever of the Year – Disability

Conner Morrison

Sports Achiever of the Year – Disability Junior

Toni Shaw

Volunteer of the Year – Adult

Kenny Clubb

Volunteer of the Year – Junior

Jenna McDonald

Coach of the Year – Adult

Eddie McKenna

Coach of the Year – Junior

Calum Shepherd

Lifetime Achievement

Janice Moir

Inspiration Award

Gordon McIvor

Club of the Year

Aberdeen Boxing Club

Team Performance of the Year


Community Sports Project of the Year


Primary School of the Year

Westpark School

Secondary School of the Year

Aberdeen Grammar School

Community Partner of the Year – Business