General News:

Grainger, Fachie and Florence scoop prizes at 2016 Aberdeen’s Sports Awards


The trio were awarded the Male and Female Sports Achievers of the Year with Neil Fachie also picking up Disability Sports Achiever again.

The awards come as recognition for the monumental year they have had in their fields, where they all picked up Olympic medals in Rio.

The Rio-tastic awards ceremony hosted by the Active Aberdeen Partnership at the AECC saw hundreds of guests pay tribute to the winners and finalists. 

David Florence also delivered the keynote speech, where he praised the continued improvement of sports facilities in the city, and encouraged young people to get active.

It is the 23rd year of the Aberdeen Sports Awards, held to recognise the commitment, dedication and achievements of local athletes, teams, volunteers and coaches who put Aberdeen on the sporting map.

Speaking after the awards, a spokesperson for the Active Aberdeen Partnership (AAP) said:

“The AAP would like to extend a huge congratulations to all of the winning finalists.

“This was the biggest Aberdeen Sports Award to date and it really demonstrated the wealth of sporting talent Aberdeen has to offer the world.

“From Neil Fachie, to Aberdeen Snow Sports, to Hazlehead Primary and so many more, we can all take huge pride from the impact they have had not only on their sport, but in inspiring the next generation to become more active.”

Other awards included Lifetime Achievement award to Bill Berry, who has been involved in sport for over 61 years as a competitor, coach, referee and one of Scotland’s highest grade judo players.


Male Sports Achiever of the Year

Neil Fachie and David Florence

Female Sports Achiever of the Year – Sponsored by the Evening Express      

Winner: Katherine Grainger

Highly Commended: Jackie Lockhart

Junior Male Sports  Achiever of the Year – Sponsored by Stronachs  

Winner: John Docherty

Highly Commended: Dylan Curry

Highly Commended: Finn Bremner

Junior Female Achiever of the Year- Sponsored by McLeod+Aitken

Hannah Gray

Veteran Sports Achiever of the Year – Sponsored by AFCCT

Jackie Lockhart

Disability Sport Achiever of the Year- Sponsored by Baker Hughes

Neil Fachie

Student of the Year – Sponsored by Aberdeen University

Winner: Lewis McCue

Highly Commended: Douglas Green

Club of the Year- Sponsored by ID Verde

Winner: Aberdeen Snow Sports

Highly Commended: Aberdeen Sooyang Do

Highly Commended: Wanderers RFC

Team of the Year – Sponsored by Spree


Primary School of the Year- Sponsored by David Lloyd

Winner: Kingswells Primary

Highly Commended: Hazlehead Primary

Secondary School of the Year  – Sponsored by Sport Aberdeen

Winner: Bridge of Don Academy

Highly Commended: Hazlehead Academy

Outstanding Commitment– Sponsored by Aberdeen Sports Village

Winner: Leroy Smith

Highly commended: Lorna Presley

Highly Commended: Len Nicol

Volunteer of the Year   – Sponsored by Aberdeen Health and Social Care Partnership

Jim Livingston

Supporter of the Year   – Sponsored by Petrolink

Aquatic Engineering

Junior Sports Coach of the Year – Sponsored by Aberdeen Snowsports Centre          

Kieran Henderson

Adult Sports Coach of the Year- Sponsored by RGU

Winner: Sara Paterson

Highly Commended: Sally Carns

Lifetime Achievement   – Sponsored by Aberdeen City Council

Bill Berry