General News:

25th Aberdeen’s Sports Awards shines light on local sporting talent


Local sporting talents have been recognised at Aberdeen’s Sports Awards 2018.

Now in their 25th year, the awards organised by the Active Aberdeen Partnership, recognised the wealth of sporting achievements and contributions made by local athletes, volunteers, clubs and community projects who encourage individuals to be active in Aberdeen.

More than 390 people attended the event at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre on Thursday 4 October, which saw 17 awards presented and over £2,500 raised for beneficiary ClubSport Aberdeen, a new and vibrant body that provides a unified voice for sports clubs in Aberdeen.

Gymnastics Coach, Sue Morgan won the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award for her 25 years of dedication and contribution to the Beacon Rhythmic Gymnastics Club.

Zoey Clark triumphed in the Adult Sports Achiever of the Year category for her astounding achievements in the past athletics season, while Connor Morrison scooped the Neil Fachie Disability Sports Achiever of the Year Award for his dedication to and achievements in Para Swimming.

Commenting on the standard of award entries, Active Aberdeen Partnership Chairman, Tony Dawson said:

“The Active Aberdeen Partnership has overseen a real step change in Aberdeen’s Sports Awards and last night was, once again, a very memorable occasion, recognising and rewarding the rich vein of sporting talent that is nurtured here in the City.

 “I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of our sponsors, without whom the event just wouldn’t be possible and most importantly, to all of the finalists and to those who nominated them. We wish them all continued success in their sporting careers and hope that our support perhaps played some small part in that journey.

“It was also a pleasure to present a special award to our host, Dave Macdermid, to recognise his outstanding commitment to Aberdeen’s Sports Awards over the past 25 years.”

Entertainment for the evening was provided by the Beacon Rhythmic Gymnastics Club and guest speakers, fourteen year old Aimee Work, Active Girls Committee Chairperson and Robert Wicks, Commercial Director at Aberdeen Football Club.

Other awards included the Inspiration Award which was awarded to Dean Stott, the Community Sports Project of the Year which was won by Food and Fun and Adult Coach of the Year which was awarded to Eddie McKenna.

The winners in the 17 categories were as follows:

Lifetime Achievement
Sue Morgan

Inspiration Award
Dean Stott

Adult Sports Achiever of the Year
Zoey Clark

Junior Sports Achiever of the Year
Kirsty Muir

Student Sports Achiever of the Year
Kim Beattie

Disability Sports Achiever of the Year
Conner Morrison

Disability Junior Sports Achiever of the Year
Toni Shaw

Adult Volunteer of the Year
Ronnie Kain

Junior Volunteer of the Year
Rebekah Singer

Adult Coach of the Year
Eddie McKenna

Junior Coach of the Year
Matthew Scott

Club of the Year
Grampian Flyers Basketball Club

Team Performance of the Year
Aberdeen Sports Village Table Tennis Academy

Community Sports Project of the Year
Food and Fun

Primary School of the Year
Seaton Primary School

Secondary School of the Year
Bridge of Don Academy

Community Partner of the Year – Business
John Clark Motor Group