General News:

Local runners victorious at 2019 BHGE 10K Running Festival


After the successful 32nd year of the BHGE 10K Running Festival, organiser Sport Aberdeen and main sponsor Baker Hughes, a GE company (BHGE) would like to give thanks to all who participated in and supported this year’s event.

Cameron Strachan from Metro Aberdeen was delighted to win the 2019 BHGE 10K, completing the course in a staggering 32 mins 20 secs and Fiona Bruce, also from Metro Aberdeen, won the women’s race for the fifth time with a time of 35 mins 50 secs.

Murran Mackay (Red Star Athletics Club) was victorious in the 10K wheelchair race in 52 mins and 55 secs and Catherine Lewis triumphed in the 10K handcycles race in 1 hour 10 secs.

The Specsavers 2K was won by Meldrum Academy’s Ross Chalmers with a time of 6 mins 50 secs, Jessica Beaton from Harlaw Academy was the fastest girl with a time of 7 mins 45 secs and Portlethen Academy’s Jack Laird won the Specsavers 2K wheelchair race in 14 mins 24 secs.

First place in both the Male and Female Team race was secured by Metro Aberdeen Running Cluband the title of Corporate Team Challenge Winners was taken home by Team Sport Aberdeen.



Men’s Overall Winner – Cameron Strachan (Metro Aberdeen RC)

Women’s Overall Winner – Fiona Bruce (Metro Aberdeen RC)

Senior Men – Cameron Strachan (Metro Aberdeen RC)

Senior Women – Fiona Bruce (Metro Aberdeen RC)

Veteran Men – Michael Carroll (Perth Road Runners)

Veteran Women – Rebecca Watt (Rebel PT)

Super Veteran Men – Paul Eggeling (Aberdeen AAC)

Super Veteran Women – Veronique Oldham (Aberdeen AAC)

Vintage Men – George Mcpherson (Metro Aberdeen RC)

Vintage Women – Carolyn Milne (Ambelside AC)

Junior Men – Aaron Odentz (Aberdeen AAC)

Junior Women – Vicki Elder (Fraserburgh RC)

Wheelchair – Murray Mackay (Red Star AC)

Handcycle – Catherine Lewis

Overall Team – Metro Aberdeen RC

Men’s Team – Metro Aberdeen RC

Women’s Team – Metro Aberdeen RC

Corporate Team – Sport Aberdeen



P6/7 Male – Jamie Ferries (Airyhall Primary)

P6/7 Female – Abby Farquhar (Airyhall Primary)

S1/2 Male – Findlay Murray (Hazlehead Academy)

S1/2 Female – Jessica Beaton (Harlaw Academy)

S3/4 Male – Ross Chalmers (Meldrum Academy)

S3/4 Female – Eloise Cruickshank (Cults Academy)

Wheelchair – Lucy Caird (Portlethen Academy)